Honours Degree in Toilet Training

I didn’t realise how hard toilet training can be! I’m beginning to realise that Mr Messer’s success in this matter had absolutely nothing to do with my brilliant parenting skills. You see, he was in the crèche when he was toilet trained. Getting Missy Messer out of nappies has been on the to do list since last Christmas, but she hasn’t shown any great enthusiasm for doing her business anywhere else than in a nappy. She loves talking about doing it, wearing big girl’s pants and being like her big brother, but when it comes to actually sitting on the potty or the toilet, nothing. Not a drop. She sits there, twirling around and announces I’m finished. Dry like the Sahara! It’s beginning to look like you need a degree in this…

image

My big girl

I tried having a chat with her, asking what the problem is. If she’s afraid that it will hurt. She looked at me with those adorable big blue eyes wide open but mummy I don’t know how to do it. My poor baby. How do you explain that one? I have tried explaining it’s like doing it in the nappy, just let it go. Relax and let the wee come out. But she has the attention span of a three year old.

I’m wondering if we made too big a deal out of it. It’s been discussed during the summer and we tried a couple of times but didn’t persevere as she wasn’t getting anything done into the potty.

Maybe there was too much emphasis on not wetting her pants. You know you don’t have a nappy on now so you need to tell me if you need to do a wee or a poo  And then rushing her onto the toilet when she said she needs to wee.

We’ve been at it this week as she will start montessori soon and they won’t take her if she’s still in nappies. The first day she didn’t do anything all day! Then when she got a nappy on for the night.. well, let’s just say there was a bit of washing to be done today. I mean everything was soaked, through the nappy onto the pyjamas, mattress, duvet, pillow… So I started wondering again if she’s just not ready, but decided to give it a few more days as she wasn’t upset herself.

I think we might have had a breakthrough! Yesterday evening she finally did both into the toilet. And the look on her face was priceless, she was so proud of herself to have finally managed it! It was all claps and well dones (and bribery, the ice cream was yummy!). I have high hopes for today!

Did you have any problems with your little ones? How did you resolve them? Would love to hear your experiences and tips!

4 thoughts on “Honours Degree in Toilet Training

  1. Pingback: Irish Parenting Bloggers | Honours Degree in Toilet Training

  2. Pingback: Honours Degree in Toilet Training – Part Two | Little Messers' House

Leave a Reply

