The Start of My Little Getaway

I switch off the laptop, kiss the kiddies goodbye and happily make my way to the bus stop to catch the bus to the airport. The sun is shining, for once I’m not in a rush and it’s lovely and warm. I’m heading off to Helsinki for three nights and I can’t wait.

image

I get the first hint of trouble as I arrive to the bus stop and see the police directing traffic. Hmm, ok, well the cars seem to be moving so it should be fine. A Lithuanian lady comes to me asking if I’m taking the bus to the airport. She then tells me that she’s been there for over an hour and no buses. Oh dear.. A quick phone call to the bus company reveals that the two bus stops near us have been closed and the buses are diverted to another bus stop, about 15min walk up along the dual carriageway. So when is this bus that I’m waiting for supposed to arrive at the other bus stop? In 5, max 10 minutes, really?!

Luckily, the Lithuanian lady had her partner with her and he was driving! Off to the car and a quick race to the bus stop. We get there just in time. Two minutes later our bus arrives and I’m relieved. We’re fine now, right?

Well no. Dublin City Centre is a nightmare and I should have trusted myself rather than the bus company’s optimistic arrival times on their website… Stuck in traffic with a flight to catch is not the most relaxing way to start your little getaway! The clock keeps ticking and the endless queue of cars in front 9f us doesn’t seem to move at all… It’s only an hour to boarding time and we’re still on the south side of River Liffey! But once we get across the river the traffic eases a bit and the bus driver puts the boot down. We may still make it…

We arrived at the airport 30mins before boarding. Just as well I had already checked in and only had a carry on bag! In the end, I even had 15mins to spare… Now I’m safely on the plane on my way to Helsinki. I’m starving and in need of a big glass of wine. What’s taking so long?!

image

It doesn't look very appetising, but it was the best Rye bread sambo ever!!

Leave a Reply

